Who will join the MPs who are holding a sit-in in the House of Representatives?

Who will join the MPs who are holding a sit-in in the House of Representatives?

| Thursday 19 January 2023

Chadi Hileneh, “Akhbar al-Yawm” agency

Waiting for the decision from abroad is a provocation to the will of the Lebanese people

A number of deputies, including Melhem Khalaf, Najat Saliba, Cynthia Zarazir, and Firas Hamdan, decided to hold a sit-in inside the parliament hall until a new president is elected, in a precedent that is the first of its kind, after it turned out that there was a hidden intention of not electing, in light of the alignment and the division in Parliament as a result of its multiple composition, and the disruption of the Quorum of the second session - while the Lebanese are suffering from the high cost of living, and the US exchange rate that reached its highest levels, reaching the 50 thousand.

The Lebanese have become skeptical about the ability of Deputies to elect a president immediately, as the country is on the verge of a social explosion.

Based on the foregoing, the current situation is going from bad to worse, and there are no longer any components of the state, no foundations for its re-establishment, no laws and no institutions, the country has completely collapsed, so the step of the deputies to hold a sit-in inside the parliament, according to information, may move stagnant waters inside and outside, or the initiative that may lead to the election of a president, and perhaps this move will have another word to urge consensus.

The agency "Akhbar al-Yawm" has learned that a number of opposition deputies and supporters are studying the possibility of participating alongside their colleagues in the sit-in in the parliament hall, and according to informed sources, there is a desire to avoid any delay in the realization of this right and not to wait for the decision from outside, because this is the peak of the provocation to the Will of the Lebanese people.

This morning, the 11th session was held to elect the president of the Republic, in which 111 deputies participated, and the result of voting was as follows: Michel Mouawad 34, white papers 37, Issam Khalifa 7, New Lebanon 14, canceled 15, Ziad Baroud 2, Milad Abu Malhab 1, Salah Hanin 1, and the quorum was lost in the second session.

Join the YouTube channel now, Click Here

More News